translate icon

Economic Development


Economic Development


Overview

The Department of Economic Development's objective is to retain, attract, and grow businesses.  And also enhances small and minority business capacity and spur real estate development in every ward of the City of Plainfield.

The Department of Economic Development for the City of Plainfield serves the residents, business community, investors, and developers by providing top-quality client assistance, guidance, and support to ensure that development and small business growth occur in Plainfield.  Our professional staff will guide you and coordinate appropriate assistance from local, state, federal, and private organizations to ensure those looking to invest in Plainfield have all the tools to become successful entrepreneurs.

DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STAFF
Department Director of Economic Development: Zenobia L. Fields [zenobia.fields@plainfieldnj.gov] (908) 753-3664
Building & Community Improvement Director: Phillip Izzo [Phillip.izzo@plainfieldnj.gov]
Construction Official: Robert Schmid [robert.schmid@plainfieldnj.gov]
Fire Sub-Code Official: Matthew O'Keefe [matthew.okeefe@plainfieldnj.gov]
Plumbing Sub-Code Official: Paul Klink [paul.klink@plainfieldnj.gov]
Electrical Sub-Code Official: Joseph Hovanec [joseph.hovanec@plainfieldnj.gov]
Building Sub-Code Official: Keith Snyder [keith.snyder@plainfieldnj.gov]
Technical Assistant: Dawn Cooper [dawn.cooper@plainfieldnj.gov]
Clerk: Suzanne Lashley [suzanne.lashley@plainfieldnj.gov]
Cannabis Unit Lead: TBA

Economic Development Manager:Maximo Vazquez [maximo.vazquez@plainfieldnj.gov] (908) 753-3421  
Financial Coordinator: Drue Doman [Drue.doman@plainfieldnj.gov] (908) 226-2513
Urban Enterprise Zone (UEZ) Coordinator: Jeannette Aparicio [jeannette.aparicio@plainfieldnj.gov] (908) 753-3218
Parking Utility Director: Jervey Sistrunk [jervey.sistrunk@plainfieldnj.gov] (908) 226-2506
Supervising Parking Meter Officer: Mike Epps [Mike.epps@plainfieldnj.gov]
Clerk: Johana Membreno-Morales [johana.membreno-morales@plainfieldnj.gov]
Planning Director: TBA (908) 753-3580
Planning Aide: Daniel White [Daniel.white@plainfieldnj.gov] (908) 753-3486
Planning Aide: TBA
Accounts Assistant: Gorshawn Dabney [Gorshawn.dabney@plainfieldnj.gov] (908) 226-2519
Zoning Officer: N’dela Costley [ndela.costley@plainfieldnj.gov] (908) 226-2578



Master Plan


  Grant and Loan Resources for Business



 
  Plainfield Opportunity Zones

 

Center of Excellence Information
The City of Plainfield is proposing a recreational space and would like community involvement to identify those resources and items that should be included in this space. Complete the below survey to have your suggestions included:

English Survey

Este formulario intenta obtener una comprensión de lo que los residentes de Plainfield esperarían ver en un centro recreativo de la ciudad.
Spanish Survey

NJEDA Resources


State Programs from the NJ EDA: 
Small Business Lease Grant Informational Flyer

Small Business Lease Grant Applicant Checklist